Official Thread for Step I 2003

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Al Pacino

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, who else is taking the Step I this coming May/June/July?

How is everyone else doing? Any other M2s preparing to take this beast of an exam?

I've officially kicked off my Step I studying in earnest this past week. I'm studying neuroanatomy right now. My brain is spinning trying to decipher all these brainstem lesions -- Wallenberg is the bane of my existence:(

Members don't see this ad.

I'll be taking my swing at Step 1 on June 12. I have been trying to look over some Kaplan materials this semester, but with little success. When does everyone finish up 2nd year? I won't be done until May 16, so I feel like I have to get a good bit of studying done before the summer starts. I've heard some schools are kind enough to let their MS-2's out with a good 2 to 3 months to prep for Step 1. Must be nice...

Well, I?m up on June 6th for Step I, and only a few weeks away from the panic stage. I started to study few weeks ago but upon recommendations from some very helpful people on this board I?ve decided to put it off till the last 4 weeks, I guess I?ll just go all out then?.for now, I?m just spending a little bit of time here and there studying behavioral science and some bio stats?also, I just set up my practice test (USMLE CD) at the same center where I?ll be taking Step I (2 weeks before the real thing)?its 40 bucks and it gives me a chance for trial run at the center where I?ll be taking the test?.as for 2 to 3 months for studying step 1, I don?t think I have the stamina or patience to go that long....

June 11 is my day of accountability for the first 2 years of med school. May 16 is my last final. After that I will start intense prep for Step I. For now I am just trying to continue to do well and keep myself from burning out too early. Good Luck everyone.