Oh No Oh No Oh No!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

musiclink213

My room is a mess
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have to memorize all the stupid wavenumbers for every kind of bond that appears in an IR. oh no, oh no, oh no!!! :confused:

what do i do what do i do what do i do??? i've made flash cards, but i dont think they're helping. and how do u differentiate between 3300 and 3500 or 3100??? teh lines are so damn close together, i can never see whats what.

Members don't see this ad.

<NELSON> HA-HA </NELSON>

Sorry bud, I feel for you actually :-(. We all had to go through that and poke our eyes out in horror and pain. The best I can say is that most teachers will just make sure you know what numbers what and will try to make it clear for you on the exam. It's been some time, so I don't remember how I studied for it, sorry.

All I remember is the lab.. finding our unknowns (HORROR!!). Good God, for some reason mine made the IR machine crazy. Everyone else cheated and compared their samples to the graphs in the library.. but not even the TA could make my sample work right. So I sat there and came in when no one else was there, and ran through every test I could. In the end, I was way off but the TA only docked one or two points off.

im posting these from memory, so i might be wrong, might want to double check them. i just memorized these rules and that was enough:

3300 broad band = alcohol for sheezy
3300 sharp band = C-H sp
3200 sharp band = C-H sp2
3000 sharp band = C-H sp3
2750 sharp short band = aldehyde H
1600-1750 sharp band = the infamous carbonyl

benzene was somewhere around 8-900 (double check this one for sure, i think i'm wrong).

anything else you guys wanna add? i'm recalling from memory, can't think of any others. hope this helps though.

Members don't see this ad :)