Ok I know its been asked but I can't find the thread

cdngirl80

10+ Year Member
Apr 27, 2006
Status
Ok so I really really wanted to apply to NYMC (cause there's no essay) and then now i can't cause i can't meet their LOR requirements (the science courses they mentionned I took those classes back in 1999-2000 so its not like I remember who those profs were let alone they remember me in a class of 500).

Anyways now i'm starting to worry about the other med schools I applied to because for the science LOR i've been using letters from the dept of Pharmacology because that's where I did my master's and I know those profs really well and know they will write me a really strong letter. So I'm wondering if anyone knows whether I've screwed myself over in considering that these people are "science LOR" (some of them are cross-appointed to another depts such as microbiology, neuroscience, and physiology) and in fact are not considered so and I now need to go find new LOR.

braluk

SDN Surgerynator
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Apr 30, 2006
The Big Easy
Status
Medical Student
id call and ask, but i think that you should be fine. Realistically, I bet you that the students they admit into NYMC are in humungous classes where the prof knows you as a number, situations in which the LORs you have now are just fine. I cant imagine any school realistically requiring stringent LOR requisites and admitting only students who fulfill them. As long as your LOR writers write a strong one, it will be much better then getting a prof who barely knows you anyday of the week.

DR. EUGENIC

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Jul 12, 2006
Status
Pre-Medical
braluk said: