older DO student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oldies

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Greeting to all...
Like to get some advice.
After 18 years working as an engineer, I finally realize that healh care is a more suitable and meaningful career. I want to become a DO. I believe I have the drive, energy and intelligence to become one. What I don't know is what to do to get in a DO school. I think I will need a different strategy and credentials to be more competitive with the 20's crowd. I would be appreciative of any advice from those who have been through this process in their 30-40's.

Again thank you all.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi! Believe it or not, there are quite of few people in our program who have changed careers! We have ex-accountants, a lawyer, RN's, professors, lab techs and so on!
One thing you should really do is to contact the school you desire to go to and find out exactly the requirements for that school. (I believe the AOA has a book of the Osteopathic schools and their requirements as well.) I graduated with a liberal arts degree, so I went back to a community college to do some basic sciences and took a few extension classes at the University.
With a Engineering degree, you might have some science classes under your belt, but you might want to double check on what you might need.
Good luck and hang in there! After I changed paths and started back, I thought I would never make it - but here I am!!! and I love it!
:)

We have a good 2 dozen or so people in my class over 40 at DMU

Members don't see this ad :)
Oldies...this may mean nothing to you but I was one of the 20 somethings, fresh out of undergrad, applying to med school and I was intimidated by the older applicants. It seemed that they had so much more to offer than I did. I think your life experience gives you a competitive edge over younger applicants; makes you stronger :)