OLDER STUDENTS: Prep, motivation etc.

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by [email protected], Jul 21, 2000.

1. RL@UT

[email protected] Junior Member

Hello!!!!

I'd like to get an idea of what my peers are up to:

I'm 35 years old, and I am preparing for medical school.

I have a degree in psychology, and I worked for 7 years in academic research before deciding to go back to school to fulfill
    med school requirements.

I decided that a career in academics was not fulfilling, and that working with patients to educate them about their ilnesses and to treat them would be much more satisfying...

To that end, I decided to work for a hospital
    and eventually achieved a post as a clinical research coordinator at the medical school here in town. I've continued to work part-time at the hospital and the balance is giving me a realistic--and affirming--view of
    what to expect in school and beyond.

I'd like to know what you older students are doing to preapre for med school (besides classes, MCAT, "becoming competitive" in the application process etc.) and what caused you to take up this goal. I'm very mindful of the added challenge of being an older students and I'd like to share thoughts and ideas with others in the same situation.

Thanks in advance...

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. fiatslug

fiatslug Senior Member
    Physician

Attending Physician