1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Older students? What are the chances?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by David_Allen_VA, Jul 4, 2000.

1. David_Allen_VA

David_Allen_VA Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

All,

As an older med school hopeful (25 now, will be 27 when matriculating), do you think that the chances of sucessful application are similar to those of younger (i.e. straight out of undergraduate school) applicants? I graduated this May (3.95 gpa), but in Computer Science. Hence I have a year of chemistry and biology to complete before it would be sensible to apply. I have yet to take the MCATs (probably next Spring), and am concerned that med schools may look unfavorably upon older applicants - I have heard that they will view older applicants as less beneficial to the profession, as they have fewer years before retirement. While on the subject, I have two children, a full time job, and shall be attenting school a couple of evenings a week to complete the minimum requirements for entry. How important is extensive volunteer work, and would one evening a week for a year or so (probably shadowing am MD or working in a volunteer clinic) be sufficient? Thanks for any advice...

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. youngjock

youngjock Membership Revoked
    Removed

25 is not old at all. some are not even married at that age, not to mention about 2 children.

you started early, huh.

4. rangers1

rangers1 Member
    10+ Year Member

I believe that being a little older than those in the applicant pool who apply right out of college can be very beneficial. The personal statement on your application will be the opportunity to highlight the enormous benefit of being older and probably, more mature.