OMFS Externship/GPR

Discussion in 'Dental Residents and Practicing Dentists' started by Spirochete, Aug 6, 2006.

1. Spirochete

Spirochete OMFS lover
    2+ Year Member

Dental Student
    OK so i have a got a dilemma going on.....PLEASE HELP ME
    I am currently a senior dental student at Univ Louisville, graduation day is next may. I am now interested in OMFS, however, i kind of missed the boat on extersnhips this summer since i did not do any. I did a general practice externship, did about 1000 extractions, and liked it alot. I know OMFS is not only extractions, however i have just now decided to want to do it.
    Class Rank: 8/80
    GPA: 3.80
    Part I: 96
    MY QUESTION IS: since i am not gona be able to do any exterships, would i still be able to get in if i applied? or should i plan on doing a GPR next year after graduation which would be the mother of all mothers of externships, then apply to OMFS? I feel like with my scores a GPR is a waste of a year.
    What do you think?
    Do you think my scores are ok to get in?
    Please help me!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. scalpel2008

scalpel2008 beep beep beep...smash
    2+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    your numbers are good. the only problem is that programs may think you don't know what you are getting into (and you don't; but externships help you see the tip of the iceberg). In my opinion, these are your best options:
    1) apply right away and arrange for an externship between now and interviews (you will get interviews based on your numbers and intent/planned externship) so atleast during your interviews you can say that you "know" what you are getting into. Good LORs are important
    2) Do an externship now and do an OMS internship in 2007-2008 (better than doing a GPR)
    3) Change your syphilitic screen name

4. joyride

joyride Member
    10+ Year Member

Dentist