Mar 24, 2019
Status (Visible)
  1. Dental Student
Hey all,

Im currently a D2 student with really low class rank ( 50% percentile). I don't have any crazy extracurricular activities, just have been working on one research project. Because I am aware of my super low class rank, I am almost certain that I will have to take a gap year and apply for an OMFS internship to make up for it. My question is, when will it be the best time to apply for OMFS internships? End of 3rd year? And even with decent CBSE scores and OMFS internships, will I have a chance for OMFS with 50% class rank? Thank you.

Ivy.ch

2+ Year Member
May 6, 2018
Status (Visible)
  1. Dental Student
Some programs select non-categorical interns in the fall/winter before enrollment (so your Fall/Winter of D4), but most will not select until after Match Day in January. So you would apply in January of D4.

If you have a good CBSE and an intern year (or two or three), you'll be fine if you apply very broadly. You need a decent CBSE score.

Dec 6, 2020
Some programs select non-categorical interns in the fall/winter before enrollment (so your Fall/Winter of D4), but most will not select until after Match Day in January. So you would apply in January of D4.

If you have a good CBSE and an intern year (or two or three), you'll be fine if you apply very broadly. You need a decent CBSE score.
Yea, with that rank, may take up to 2 intern years. High CBSE will also be a requirement with that rank.

About the Ads

Bereno

Smoking Monkey
7+ Year Member
Apr 15, 2011
Washington