OMM/OMT in Emergency Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr JPH

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a first year DO student at PCOM.

I am interested in learning more about Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine/Therapy and the potential uses in the Emergency Department.

Anyone have any interesting cases?

Members don't see this ad.

The most important thing to learn when learning OMM is that it is far MORE than manipulation.
Sure, there are a few cases in which manipulation can be used, but it is quite honestly very rare. So it is the "osteopathic thinking" that can be quite useful. such as teaching a home exercise program or education to a LBP patient, or understanding many of the aspects of visceral-somatic reflexes. Most of all, it is the ability to "touch" and use physical diagnosis to your greatest advantage.
These skills are actually absent in most DO EM docs/residents. But, if you are aware, then you can facilitate.

Doc Wagner

Thank you for your response. It is good to know that the skills I am learning in school will not be "wasted" should I decide to pursue emergency medicine.

I still hope to hear of people who have used OMT in the ED.

Josh

Members don't see this ad :)
I am in the middle of am EM rotation at a DO hospital. One of the studies the residents are launching are patient preferences in which hospital they present to for an acute exacrbation of asthma, depending on whether they recieve OMT or not. Pilot data is showing a preference for our ED because the patients feel OMT helps.
This is just one example- I see OMT used quite often as a part of a comprehensive treatment of an ED patient. Ranging from back pain (quite common in the ED) to a congested pregnant female, your skills will definitely not go to waste.:clap: