OMS-2 with zero desire to practice clinical medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

garrettp

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in my second year, and I've come to the realization that I don't really want to practice clinical medicine. I had an idealized conception of what working with patients would be like during my pre-med years, but over time, I've come to the conclusion that it's not for me. I don't like being around ungrateful, unreasonable sick people or touching people in intrusive ways or memorizing algorithms or doing procedures. It all stresses me out, and I'm dreading clinical rotations during the upcoming two years.

I'm almost halfway through med school, and I'm unfortunately >$100k in debt. I've gotten mostly B's in school, and I'm somewhere in my class's third quartile. I only have an undergrad degree with a crappy major, and limited work experience. The job market would not treat me well if I dropped out.

I've thought about sticking it out and then going into preventive medicine/occupational medicine, but I'm not sure about the job outlook. I've also thought about getting a master's degree after med school and then trying to become an academic in public health or health administration or something. I've considered the corporate track (healthcare consulting and whatnot), but I'm not sure if it's open to DOs. I don't care very much about money, as long as I'm able to pay off my $300k debt. I enjoy problem-solving, writing, and statistics.

Any suggestions?

(Please refrain from the "you should've thought about this before matriculating" stuff. I don't have access to a time travel machine, so I gotta just try to pave a decent path for myself going forward.)

Members don't see this ad.

If you can handle doing one of the shorter residencies, do FM --> Administration

I have friends that hated everything and picked Psychiatry

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)