JBDoctor35

2+ Year Member
Jun 19, 2014
Status
Pre-Medical
Hey SDN,

I just want to know if I'm lacking in any areas or if I can strengthen my application for med school while I still have time. I'm a sophomore in college. Even though I'm a sophomore, I will be in undergrad for 5 years, so technically year 2/5. Anyways, I'm a computer engineering major who is also doing premed. Here are some of my stats:

GPA: 4.0/4.0
Volunteer: 80 hours at a local hospital, 75 hours at a local free clinic (really great patient interaction :)!)
Shadowing: 50 hours w/ a neurosurgeon, 30 hours w/ a podiatrist, 35 hours w/ a orthopedic surgeon
EC's: member of premed club, member of engineering club, tutor for campus tutoring service, engineering ambassador for potential students, a few more small things but nothing major...

So, how am I doing for year 2/5? Could I improve on anything? Should I keep doing what I'm doing? I would love any advice I could get! Thanks in advance!

Lucca

Will Walk Rope for Sandwich
Staff member
Administrator
5+ Year Member
Oct 22, 2013
City of the Future
Status
Medical Student
Keep on doing what you are doing it sounds like you are doing great!

Jun 11, 2014
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
Look into research if that's something that interest you.

Dec 29, 2013
Status
Pre-Medical
Just want to add that podiatrists aren't MDs, but you look great so far!

Reactions: Omppu27

Omppu27

El Tiburon
7+ Year Member
Aug 12, 2011
Pawnee, Indiana
Status
Medical Student
Just want to add that podiatrists aren't MDs, but you look great so far!