On-track for a nontrad application/conflicted reasons for choosing medicine?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nopurposeflour

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an undergraduate computer science student interested in switching over to medicine.

cGPA: 3.72 (bit of an upward trend - I had a 3.28 first semester freshman year but haven't had below a 3.5 since)
sGPA: 3.32 (although I've only taken one semester of gen. chem and two semesters of physics, so I think it's only negligibly bad right now)
Clinical volunteering/experience: Around 25 or so hours volunteering at a hospital, but I haven't completed my two-semester commitment to them so I'll likely start from scratch.
Non-clinical volunteering/experience: 3.5 years of working with/leading an investment student organization at my university. No real volunteering yet, but I REALLY want to start volunteer ice hockey coaching (which begs another question - should I look for a different volunteering option if the ice hockey coaching position ends up being paid?). I have some hours volunteering with my university's red cross student group, but I was never that interested in the volunteering work.
Research: A lot. I can't really count the hours, but most of it has been from computer science/astrophysics research I do at university. My most recent summer internship was spent doing some clinical research work for a biotech company, culminating in a public health-y meta-analysis research project that I first author'd the abstract and poster for. One other n-th author publication and one upcoming 2nd author publication for astrophysics and computer science research.
Shadowing: 7 hours of shadowing an allergist.