One bastard professor (first-day of class)

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by Challenge, Aug 29, 2000.

1. Challenge

Hi folks,
    I got my bachelors' degree last year in exercise science and I'm getting post-bacc at a state university. I've already fullfilled basic pre-req and I registered for genetic and immunology. So I went to the first genetic class and asked the new professor whether I could take this class or not. I told him I took general bio, chem, organic and microbiology.
    He told me that I should take cell structure and function in order to take genetic to get a good grade. He then asked me why I would want to take this class and I told him that I
    was trying to be pre-med. I then asked some pre-med who took basic pre-req for medical
    school with B.A. degree could take biochemistry without taking cell structure function and asked if it's possible. He then told me that I should get a real good grade on everything or I will not get into medical school. He was like "you will not get a good score on MCAT and there will be no chance of going to medical school if you don't take
    biochemistry which also requires pre-req for genetics" wow... he doesn't even know me.
    He doesn't even know my grade at all. We just met 5 mins ago. So anyway he recommended me to take lower level class. He kept asking me if I know well on molecular genetic or other stuff like metabolism. I told him that I took metabolic nutrition. He replied with condescending attitude,"Oh nutrition! .. see that course doesn't seem to help you"
    So this [email protected]#$ing guy wanted me to drop this class and take cell structure and function.
    By the way he didn't even know what "general biology" actually teaches. I told him that
    it is college level intro biology course.
    Should I take pre-req for genetic or what?????
    Please help!

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.