One D and One F, do I stand a chance?? A lot of life experience!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JaxysWindow

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello and thanks in advance!

I found out today I failed UC Berkeley Extension Biochemistry. I had an A going into the final exam but didn’t pass the exam, therefore, received an F in the class. I am so nervous this means I won’t make it into vet school for my first time applying. I am a Colorado Resident and applied to CSU only this year. I am working through more prerequisites so I will apply to more schools next year if needed.

General Coursework and GPA
I graduated from University of South Carolina with a degree in Exercise Science with a 3.72 GPA in 2017
I received a D in Chemistry II the first time because I skipped an exam to travel to Haiti. (Not my smartest move, I just didn’t know I wanted to do something with science later on.) I retook this course later in my time in college and received a B+, which is reflected in my cumulative GPA. My other grades in college were always A's and B's with one C.
I’m enrolling to retake Biochem at Colorado State University this semester, where I have gotten A’s in both Organic Chemistry I and Genetics this year.
Not sure what my last 45 or science GPA is.

Experience In College
Research assistant in undergrad: 400 hours
Volunteer leader for Young Life, a Christian ministry for teenagers: ~1,000 hours
Horse Wrangler for a camp on weekends and summer: ~600 hours
JV lacrosse coach: 200 hours
Freelance photographer: 250 hours
Part of a service sorority for four years

Work and animal experience after college
I have taken four years off of undergrad, in which I have been a sea kayaking guide for a summer, worked on multiple horse ranches across the west, and traveled solo to volunteer with animals (mainly horses, but also sheep, cattle, yaks, reindeer, camels, goats) in multiple countries.