dajalyn

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jul 31, 2002
WI
Visit site
Status
I'm sure you're all sick of the same question but I have to ask.

Do I have a chance??? Let me explain...

I attend Wellesley and I"ll be applying for med 2004. My pre-med advisor seems to think it unlikely I'll get into a medical school.

My cum gpa is 3.5 and science 3.33. I haven't taken the mcat yet but i'm studying all summer and taking it in april. I have excellent extracurriculars, excellent medical related work experience, and some volunteering. I"m an english major. I also fall into the disadvantaged category ( hate to admit it or use it but...).

Should I seriously give up or do you think my advisor is crazy (I'm thinking perhaps she may think I'm a lost cause as I clearly couldn't get into Harvard or something desired by my undergrad school as they typically get into Harvard)?

I"d hate to think I should give it all up but I've wanted to be a doctor since I was 8 years old and my grampa became one of the first 10 ppl in the country to receive an internal defibrilator.

Any advice is greatly appreciated! I'd gladly take any medical school!!!

Suggestions to where I should apply (I'm from WI).

Thanks!

DarkChild

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 27, 2002
New York
Visit site
Status
honestly - you'll be fine...
a couple things:
1) do well on the MCATs - I found a prep course very useful (Kaplan)
2) keep your grades up and show an improving trend. if you havent done that well in the sciences, take advanced bio classes and work your butt off - it'll also help on the MCATs
3) pad your GPA - find the classes that are reasonably easy, or the prof seems really uncomplicated.

all in all, no matter how the next couple of years turn out - there are more than enough medical schools that span the spectrum

chopsuey

miss independent
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jun 13, 2002
good question.... ;)
Visit site
Status