Online Clinical Mental Health Counseling Degree before Ph.D

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

D.glard

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been looking into Master's degrees in Counseling and have been struggling to find ones that are affordable. However, I've found one university that has a CACREP accredited online master's degree in counseling. The university is nationally ranked. It's cheaper than most universities in my area and my dad's VA benefits would cover the bulk of my tuition. I'd also be eligible for benefits (i.e scholarships, grants) . If I do this program, I could also continue working either full or part time in research so that I've had lots of experience when it's time to apply for Ph.D programs in Counseling Psychology. Does this seem like a good idea? I wouldn't consider an online program if it weren't so affordable and accredited. Would the fact that the bulk of it is online hurt my chances of finding a job or getting into a good Ph.D program afterwards? All of my other stats are good (undergraduate senior honors thesis, 3.6 GPA, good amount of paid research experience with posters and talks, etc.)

Members don't see this ad.

Also the program includes a thesis, internship, and practicum so that I would get legitimate clinical experience.

Members don't see this ad :)
A few thoughts:
1. I'm not sure that will make you substantially more competitive than other experiences (research, higher scores, etc) and, as smalltown said, why you would not just apply to a phd program now especially with your research and everything else.

2. I would wonder about the type of practicum and supervision you would get since it is online. I'm always skeptical about how well vetted the sites you would practice at would be because building bad skills early doesn't do you any favors.