Online Courses to Boost GPA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kmelrose89

Reaction score
All,

I feel like I'm standing up in front of an AA group, or confessing to a priest, but here goes:

About ten years ago--Jesus--I was an undergraduate premed. I was lazy and unfocused, with poor results--an undergrad Science GPA of just 2.0.

I took most all the pre-reqs, did well in a few, did quite poorly several others. I went to law school instead, did well, and have been practicing as an attorney these past few years, but have always wanted to go back.

My big question is: since I've already taken most of the pre-reqs in person at a university, if I'm just looking to boost my Science GPA north of 3.0, should I retake the pre-req classes online or should I retake them in person? Obviously, I need to show an upward GPA trend.

I know that many med-schools don't accept online pre-reqs, but since I've already taken them in person, even though I did poorly, can I just retake them online to get the GPA boost and show that I'm penitent and reformed?

Will the online courses still be calculated into my Science GPA even if they aren't accepted as "pre-requisites" by given universities? I'd love to know your thoughts, or hear from anyone who's been in a similar position.

Thank you all in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Unless you failed these pre-reqs, you don't need to retake them. I'd focus on taking upper div science classes, especially courses you can find in med school (anatomy, physio, hematology, histology etc). If you can take them in person that's fine, but n=1, none of the schools had issues with any of my post-bacc classes being online (best to check each school's website).

Reactions: 1 users
That's fantastic advice Nugester! Where did you find those classes online? I'm aware of the New England University online courses, any other good resources for an online post-bacc? Thanks!