Only very small percentage of applicants actually enroll @ dental school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Buppy99

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a biology/predentistry student, at college. I've been working really hard to make a high gpa, all semester. In trying to decide if my gpa is high enough, I went over admissions statistics from different schools listed in the "ADEA Official Guide to Dental Schools 2011". I discovered that often less than 4% of dental school applicants at a specific school eventually become enrolled. I knew that the process was competitive, but that makes it sound much more difficult than I would have guessed.
On the other hand, the gpa ranges of accepted students often fall from somewhere from 2.44-4.00, which does not seem nearly as cut-throat.
So, why is there such a difference? How high does my gpa need to be, in order to be considered competitive? Thank you for the answers!

Members don't see this ad.

of all the applicants that apply, 40% of them end up matriculating into a dental school(2010-ADA). so 60% dont get in at all, some states are clearly easier than others ( the percentage that get into medical school ( I am assuming both D.O and M.D in the U.S is 44%-website of AAMC). Good luck

4% enroll in a specific dental school maybe, but rememeber acceptance to any dental school (A, B, C, D) is different from enrolling in School A. That's why the numbers are so low.

Members don't see this ad :)
4% enroll in a specific dental school maybe, but rememeber acceptance to any dental school (A, B, C, D) is different from enrolling in School A. That's why the numbers are so low.

:thumbup::thumbup:

Yeah, and it's crazy low for Cali residents. I mean, the acceptance/applicants rate is like 1-3% for each school. But if I remember correctly, some southern states had an in-state acceptance of like 40% (due to lack of interest/qualified applicants).