Opening a Practice Unlicensed but Hiring a Licensed Psychologist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psyd20151234

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is it possible to open a practice without my license. I'm a Psy D and I'm studying for the EPPP but want to get things going ASAP. Could I start my practice and be sole owner and hire a licensed Psychologist to do supervision and to see the majority of the patients?

Members don't see this ad.

Ownership- depends on the relevant state's laws
Billing- Probably not. IIRC, to create a clinic NPI, you have to have an NPI, which requires a license.

Reactions: 1 user
Is it possible to open a practice without my license. I'm a Psy D and I'm studying for the EPPP but want to get things going ASAP. Could I start my practice and be sole owner and hire a licensed Psychologist to do supervision and to see the majority of the patients?

1. You are talking about starting a business. Its free country, based on capitalism, right?

2. You would not be able to bill, so the psychologist you hired will essentially have their own private practice (they just don't own it) that you set up and funded. Seems like it defeats the purpose of number one.

Members don't see this ad :)
Well the psychologist would rely on me to bring in the patients, which I already have a referral network established and am great at the business aspect so the psych would just have to show up and see the patients and take his/her 70%.

I do have an NPI and can see medicare/medicaid patients (or cash accounts) in my state as long as I get 1 hour of supervision by a licensed psychologist (my employee).

It seems like I SHOULD be able to do this...hmmmmm.....

as long as I get 1 hour of supervision by a licensed psychologist (my employee).

If you can convince your state licensing board that that's not a dual relationship...