Ophthalmoscope & Otoscope

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrHopeless

The Monkey is In
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does any of you guys know which one is good? I heard about Heine, but which model should I get and also does 2.5V and 3.5V really matter? Is there any other alternative that I should look at? I am just a 1st year student by the way.

Members don't see this ad.

everyone at my school went with welch allyn. 3.5v is the way to go. 2.5 is really dim (and don't get one of those pocket sets...they're not bright enough and you can't see much).

for the most part, your best bet is to get the one your school recommends...that's the one they'll expect you to be comfortable with and know how to use.

and don't let the sales people talk you into the expensive pan-optic head...you'll rarely see those in clinics, so you'll need to know how to use the "traditional" head...and it'll save you at least $100

Agree with 3.5V. Otherwise, don't fret over this decision. Beyond med school, you will likely have little use for these devices other than party tricks. I've used them on my dog more often than real patients. Don't go cheap, but look for the best deal. Don't think you'll get mad respect on the wards, or diagnose some really obscure disease, because you happened to have the right ophthalmoscope.

Members don't see this ad :)
my biggest regret of my 2nd year so far is actually buying one of those stupid things. even though they told us we needed one, we're well past our ENT and eye stuff and could have gotten away without it.

really be sure you need one. I could have bought a Wii instead. 2 of them.

Seriously, I'm a neurology resident and I look in eyes all day long and I don't even own an ophthalmoscope. My advice would be the following: I