Ophtho applicant, what to tell medicine???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dazzled85

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Fellow Med Students/Residents/Attendings,

I am facing a tough situation with my application this year. I am a 4th year medical student applying this year for ophthalmology. I will be a graduate from an american medical school. My scores are in the 90th percentile for step I and 95th percentile for Step II. No AOA but got honors on my away ophtho rotations. Have great research posters and working on a study right now.
However as my score is not in the 99th percentile. I will be applying to medicine programs as well but dont know what to tell medicine programs if they ask me about my interest in ophtho. All my away rotations are ophtho, so it will be near impossible for a med PD to not recognize my string of ophtho rotations.

How do I dodge this question? what do I tell them during interviews?

I will be applying to top medicine programs who probably expect 100% commitment to medicine!

Please Help!

Members don't see this ad.

I would say go all in for ophthalmology and apply to prelim medicine programs as back-ups.

If you choose later interview dates for the medicine programs, you will know by then if ophtho is in your future or not. Also, you can approach the interview in a much more relaxed way, not having to hide your intentions for ophtho.

This is of course dependent on your intentions of taking on a full medicine residency in the event you do not match. You could even interview for prelim and tell them you are interested in categorical at the interview, if that is the case.

I would caution on applying to both medicine and ophthalmology and telling them two different tales of your interests. It is a very small world and people talk. If word gets out that you are indecisive or misleading either program, you could easily get blacklisted from both.