Opinions on Illinois College of Optometry

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sweetie02

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

Can anyone on here tell me their opinions on the Illinois College of Optometry? I would appreciate some input from current or past students of ICO! I have been hearing some bad things about it and I thought it was my first choice school. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

use the search function on here and you will find lots

I am a proud graduate of ICO and have nothing but great things to say about the school (except for the price of tuition).

Members don't see this ad :)
I applied and was accepted at ICO for the Class of 2010. Pacific was a better fit for me personally, but I loved the clinical education at ICO, and the city of Chicago is amazing!

Hopefully some current students will chime in, but do check out the Ambassador program thread at the top of this forum. A current student, illuminate, is an ambassador and would be happy to answer your questions!

cons: no wifi on campus yet, very little problem based learning (execpt with a few profs that inject some PBL into lectures), little dedicated prep time for boards (but that is supposedly changing), library does not have direct access to a number of somewhat obscure medical journals (but you can order individual articles), located in rough neighbourhood, living in Chicago is easily very expensive

pros: awesome exposure to very interesting clinic patients, a good number of very good and dedicated instructors

Hi!

Can anyone on here tell me their opinions on the Illinois College of Optometry? I would appreciate some input from current or past students of ICO! I have been hearing some bad things about it and I thought it was my first choice school. Thanks!