Opportunity for research beginning MS4

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shmerndawg

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am a third year medical student at Georgetown very interested in the field of radiation oncology. Recently I met with the chairman of our department and he remarked that to be a complete applicant for this field I would need to boost the research aspect of my application.

I'll give my stats:
Step I: 247
Grades: H/HP in most of rotations and pre-clinical grades
Research: Chart review of cyberknife of the orbit resulting in presentation by my resident (not me) at the most recent cyberknife users meeting. But my name is on the abstract and talk.

In my discussion with the chairman, we decided that three months or so of basic science research at the beginning of my fourth year would be very helpful. I am very interested in translational research as it is. My question is, should I stay at Georgetown and do radiobiology research, go to NIH, go someplace else?

I have also entertained the idea of doing research for a year. My chairman remarked that it would be best for me to do this between my third and fourth years of school but NOT after med school. But he says he believes there is little utility in doing this and that I should stick with doing research electives during my fourth year.
Any comments for me? I feel pretty stressed about how competitive this field has become. I would like to match somewhere on the west coast to get closer to my family.

Thanks a lot.

Members don't see this ad.

Advise: I would do your RadOnc rotations first (in places you'd wanna match in). Then you can start the research roatation, and still be able to list your work as "ongoing" in the residency application.

Hi guys,