Optimal Gpa? Help a fellow

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The Smart Guy

Work hard and play harder
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I recently finished my freshman year with a 3.95 GPA. I'm not one of those people who asks is this good enough. However, my major is biochemistry and my schedule will get a lot harder. When I apply I would like to be competetitive for the top 10-20 schools. My question is will a 3.8 GPA suffice? I know I'll be able to keep my GPA around that. Basically I'm asking whether or not it's worth killing myself to keep a 3.9 GPA or to enjoy college and still maintain a 3.75-3.8. Will the lower GPA still give me a fair shot assuming everything else is in order. Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

The Smart Guy said:
Hi, I recently finished my freshman year with a 3.95 GPA. I'm not one of those people who asks is this good enough. However, my major is biochemistry and my schedule will get a lot harder. When I apply I would like to be competetitive for the top 10-20 schools. My question is will a 3.8 GPA suffice? I know I'll be able to keep my GPA around that. Basically I'm asking whether or not it's worth killing myself to keep a 3.9 GPA or to enjoy college and still maintain a 3.75-3.8. Will the lower GPA still give me a fair shot assuming everything else is in order. Thanks in advance.

With the name "smart guy" you should already know the answer.

hopefulneuro said:
With the name "smart guy" you should already know the answer.

My name alludes to the tv show. I'm sorry for the confusion. I'm not conceited. I thought I asked a legitimate question, I guess not.

Members don't see this ad :)
Don't worry. Really. Get some other life experience in.

On that note, boy do I wish I'd had some more fun in college sometimes.

The Smart Guy said:
...I'm not one of those people who asks is this good enough...