oregon health sciences university

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bruinkid

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
i finally got their secondary. anyway, is it true that non residents are only considered for the md/mph and md/phd programs?

Members don't see this ad.

Is that what their secondary says? In that case, yes.

No, it's not true. I am an Alaska resident and got invited for an interview last year. Check out this OHSU secondary? thread for more info. It's a good idea to at least scroll through a couple of pages -- this was on page 2 -- and/or do a search before posting questions that have already been asked and answered (sometimes many times over). Best of luck with your application! It's a great school in a great city!! :D

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by SMW
No, it's not true. I am an Alaska resident and got invited for an interview last year.

I assume OHSU doesn't have the same type of thing as UW where they let in Alaska kids because Alaska has no med schools...

Nope, they don't.

I'm annoyed that I'm guilty of this too, but from now on...let's just go to the source on these issues. Now Alaska is a WICHE state and it doesn't have a medical school, but the program mentioned below is different from Washington's WWAMI. Here's from the OHSU website (http://www.ohsu.edu/som/dean/md/admissions/faq.shtml):

What is the residence requirement for OHSU's School of Medicine?

Applicants are selected for admission regardless of race, sex, age, religion, national origin, color, marital status or disabilities. The School of Medicine gives preference to the following applicants:

1. Residents of Oregon.
2. Nonresidents of Oregon who fit into one or more of the following categories: