Organic chemistry grade and med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aeh1023

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all!
I'm currently a freshman (soon to be a sophomore!) at Duke University, and I'm obviously pre-med. I just learned that I got a C+ in my first semester of orgo. Honestly, I was really shocked and disappointed because I was expecting a B at the least. But it turns out that I really freaked out and screwed up on the final and mixed up my mechanisms and it was all one big mess.
My GPA this semester will probably end up somewhere around a 3.3/4.0. And my GPA last year was a 3.1. Needless to say, my science GPA is absolutely terrible. The only science class I have an A in right now is a neuroscience class.
I was wondering what this means for my chances for getting into a top medical school. If I get an A in the second semester (Fall 2010), will that erase how poorly I did this semester on my transcript? Even if I did get 4.0s for the rest of the semesters before I apply to med school, I'll end up with a 3.7, which isn't stellar. And what are the chances of getting 4.0s at Duke, right?
Please help! And if you tell me that I'm just a freshman and that I shouldn't be worrying about it just yet, too bad. It's not gonna stop me from worrying.
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

well I would say you need to evaluate why you are making lower grades and remediate it fast. I got a C (no +/- at my undergrad) in Calculus and Organic 1 during my first year. I then studied my tush off and kept a 4.0 (including Orgo 2) until I applied to medical school (applied with a 3.65 overall and a 3.45 science). Got accepted and then was able to relax and ended up with a few B's during senior year (not a big deal)