Petieaz

5+ Year Member
Apr 20, 2013
Status
Dental Student
I am a current dental student. I am in my second year. I am currently rocking a not so stellar 3.0. I know Ortho is historically very very very competitive and if you aren't top ten in your class you are SOL. Perhaps that is still the case. I will finish my dental program along with a concurrent master's degree in oral biology and I hold leadership positions, epic service involvement and have a family to take care of... yada yada. Are there any programs that will even look at me? Or am a damned to a life of GP?
I actually think that I would make more money as a GP, but I think I would enjoy the work of an orthodontist more and have greater longevity (not as much physical strain over 30 years).

Tooth

Orthodontist
10+ Year Member
Mar 11, 2005
Status
Non-Student
Apply to as many schools as possible, around 30+. See if you get any interviews and re-evaluate. You miss 100% of the shots you never take.

Munks

7+ Year Member
May 14, 2010
CA
Status
Dentist
You still have a very real chance. While top 10 certainly makes it easier, you just have to make up for it with other things. My thoughts are:

Research - get as many publications or presentations in as you can; you still have many years left in dental school to do it. Ortho schools love research, presentations, publications, etc.. it shows you will produce more work with their name on it hah.
Stellar LORs - if your school has an ortho dept, spend a huge amount of time getting to know the higher-up professors to get good letters from them -- they may also have research opportunities for you to join, even better. They always say it is easiest to get into the residency program of the school you are currently attending.