OSCE exams

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fanconi

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Raise your hand if you are sick of these things!

:mad:

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
•••quote:•••Originally posted by Annette:
•suck it up. At least you don't have to pay $1200 and travel to Philadelphia for them.•••••Man, I'm with you on that. I'm in the class of 2005 and it looks like we'll be the first to have to fork it over for this thing.

Not only do I not want to pay the extra $1,000 to include the OSCE, I'm not looking forward to the travel expenses to go across the friggin' country to take it.

Plus, I think it is unnecessary. I'm a student in a Texas school and I'm pretty sure it is impossible for any Texas student to graduate without passing many of these exact tests throughout our curriculum. I suspect that many schools in other states require the same thing.

YUCK!

BTW, I actually don't mind the school OSCEs. While they aren't fun, they do asses something that is obviously important to being a good doctor.

Take care,
Jeff
MS-I, UTMB

What is an OSCE exam? Does everybody have to take them?

Jeff,

I don't know if you are a member of AMSA, but they are really trying to lobby against the mandatory OSCE (I get the emails since I joined for the free Netters :wink: ). Their main complaint is the additional cost to the students. Anyways, at least to me, it's one of their few platforms that I actually care about. If you go the AMSA website, you can probably get more info. about this.