Osteopathic Manipulation Therapy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Scooby

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a medical student at an allopathic medical school and am currently doing a rotation with an osteopathic medical student. While discussing a patient on our service, the osteopathic med student mentioned something about being able to relieve the patient's back pain without any type of interventions. This immediately caught my attention! The reason being is because I've been living with back for approximately ten to fifteen years, during which time I had been desperately searching for some kind of an answer (i.e. underlying pathology) to explain my ailment, however to no avail. Therefore, when the med student discussed his approach to evaluating and treating the all too common complaint of back pain, I was justifiably skeptical, at first. It was a bit too new for me. Yet that feeling of skepticism quickly disappeared with his explanation of the underlying problem and how, with his skills in osteopathic manipulation therapy, he could go about treating or correcting the dilemma. I brought up the fact that I've also been suffering back pain for years and asked if he could perhaps evaluate and maybe treat me, which he happily agreed to. Well, in about five minutes or so, I felt like a new person … no back pain! It was amazing. I felt as though the back pain would eventually revisit me, but it hasn't till this day. I can now get out of bed without crawling and the sheer pain that use to hamper my everyday, no longer exists.

Members don't see this ad.

Scooby,