Osteopathic student here, what stats do I need to be competitive to match psych?

just_SAIYAN

2+ Year Member
Aug 30, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
I'm a second year interested in psychiatry, I'm a DO student and want to give myself the best chance at matching into a good psych program. I'm a solid student and am going to bust my ass this year in order to do well on boards but...

I just want to know what kind of USMLE and Comlex score will make me competitive for most programs?

Do I need research?

What sort of things can I do to make myself more competitive?

Should I try and find a mentor through my school or reach out to local physicians?

Also any advice/pointers you have for a second year interested in psych?

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Reactions: J Senpai
G

grapefruit17

DO student. psych intern at university program

score as high as possible, not really a set number. But the higher you score, the higher your odds are.

Research is not a deal breaker but can help.

Kill step 1 and try to demonstrate interest in psych, that should be your main focus.

Reactions: just_SAIYAN

J ROD

Watch my TAN walk!!
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Aug 1, 2005
working on my tan......
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I would try and get involved with Psychiatry interest group. Research if you like too. I don't think it is a deal breaker. Average board scores are good enough to match somewhere. I would advise to take Step 1 and 2. Easier to compare yourself to MD. Unless you know you will do poorly. Easiest thing to do is try your best. I wish I would have tried harder and not take for granted I would match into some places I thought I would. Psychiatry is a little more competitive than it used to be.

OP
just_SAIYAN

just_SAIYAN

2+ Year Member
Aug 30, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
What are some things I can do to demonstrate interest in psych?

Stagg737

5+ Year Member
Jul 2, 2013
Decapod 10
Status
Resident [Any Field]