Osteopathy vs. Allopathy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SFMedic

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been a paramedic in Oakland and SF, CA for 8 years and am exploring the possibility of medical school to become an ED physician. A premed advisor recommended looking into DO school as an alternative to traditional MD school. Could you please explain the primary differences between the two? Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Why don't you just check out the osteopathic.com home page. There, you will find a pollished answer to your question without conjecture.

How are things in California? I was a firefighter in San Jose for 10 years and a paramedic for the last four. When I started considering medical school my "guidance" counselor also told me to consider DO, nursing school, and PA school because I would probably not get into medical school. Fortunately, she was wrong. I am currently a first year medical student in Pennsylvania. There is a second year at my school who was a firefighter/paramedic in San Diego and I know a captain from Santa Clara County Fire who is in his 3rd or 4th year in Wisconsin...it's not unheard of! My point is...if you want to be an M.D. then go for it

[This message has been edited by tonem (edited October 05, 1999).]

Members don't see this ad :)
Yeah you might want to consider DO school if you can't get into "medical school".

Ouch that hurts.

------------------
Ryan
Western U/COMP Class of 2004
thedigitaldoctor.com

Yes, TONEM, I am glad you got into MEDICAL SCHOOL instead of PA or DO school. It must have been a small miracle, no doubt... That doesn't mean you are going to make it THROUGH medical school, though. Perhaps you should have stuck to the "fake" medical school and gone DO.

Hey everybody. TONEM is probably trollin' this site. Don't waste your time responding to this stuff.