General Admissions & OTCAS OTCAS 2017-2018 Stats

Discussion in 'Occupational Therapy [ O.T.D ]' started by Zgroh, Jun 23, 2017.

  1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. hercurlinessOT

    hercurlinessOT

    8
    0
    Jun 13, 2017
    Just looked into your comment about CSUDH, and can confirm. I've been having a hard time organizing the specific details for each program, but finally decided to create a folder with different files for each. I guess that rules CSUDH out; oh well. Thanks for bringing that to my attention!

    Thanks for the encouragement! Hopefully my GPA increases my acceptance likelihood for the other programs as well.
     
  2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. OT2BE2017

    OT2BE2017

    34
    21
    Mar 18, 2017
    Yea that is the hardest part about applying to different schools for OT in that they all have different requirements and deadlines. Don't worry though you are sure to get into any of the schools you previously mentioned with your stellar GPA. Just hit those GRE minimums for schools such as: USC and St. Augustine. You will get in, no doubt. For the other schools such as Touro, Loma Linda, Pacific University there will be an interview process so I find those schools to be more holistic versus looking plainly into stats alone. Good luck with your upcoming GRE and applying to schools! :)
     
  4. SLOSU1010

    SLOSU1010

    1
    0
    Aug 12, 2017
    Undergraduate University: The Ohio State University
    Degree: Human Development & Family Sciences w/a minor in Psychology
    Cumulative GPA (not completed yet) 3.99
    Prerequisite GPA 4.0
    GRE: I've taken it twice, and I'm taking it one more time in a couple weeks just to see if I can get it up a bit more:
    1st time--V:157 Q:150 W:5.0
    2nd time--V: 154 Q:161 W:6.0
    3rd: TBD (I want to try to get my verbal + math both up to around the 157-161 range)

    Applying to: Ohio State, Rush U, WashU in St.Louis, Boston U, UPitt, & University of Toledo

    Work:
    -Daycare assistant for 1 year
    -Lab Assistant for students with disabilities (3 years)
    -Undergraduate research assistant in Human development and family studies (1 year)
    -Student intern at a program for underprivileged families that works through the hospital on campus (1 year)
    -full-time Nanny for 4 summers

    Volunteer/Extracurriculars:
    - 3 years as president/secretary for the Special Olympics club at OSU (includes the 3 years of volunteer work)
    - 1 year as vice president of a volunteer club working with local organizations to support families, the elderly, etc.
    - took a 2 week service/leadership trip to Costa Rica
    - Member of the pre-OT club (1 year)
    - Co-ed indoor soccer participant (3 years)
    - Community group leader for my service trip (lead discussions, service projects, etc.)
    - University ambassador for the program that took me on my service trip (I encourage students to attend service trips through them)

    Observation experience (total--100ish):
    -100 total in pediatric, rehabilitation, neurorehabilitation, and geriatric settings (inpatient + outpatient for all)

    Misc: CPR/AED certified, Honors student, graduating a year early for financial reasons

    References:
    -an occupational therapist I shadowed for four months
    -my boss for my job working with students with disabilities
    -one of my honors professors
    -the doctor running the research project that I worked on

    I just got my applications turned in earlier this week, and I'll be all done once I finish taking the GRE in a couple weeks. I'm a bit nervous because I had one less year to work on improving my resume/earning more observation hours, but I'm hoping for the best! Realistically, I would love to go to OSU because I don't think I can afford to go out of state, but OSU's program is ridiculously competitive, so we'll see what happens!
     
  5. Travelling_OT_Hopeful

    Travelling_OT_Hopeful

    7
    1
    May 4, 2017
    (Updated from an earlier post)
    Undergraduate University:
    Penn State
    Degree: Biobehavioral Health with honors/minor in Human Development and Family Studies
    Cumulative GPA (not completed yet) 3.84
    Prerequisite GPA 3.75-3.82 (depends on school)
    GRE: Verbal 158 Quant 151 (still waiting on writing, may retake)

    Applying to: University of Illinois- Chicago, Temple, Chatham, Salus U, Jefferson College of Health Sciences, Shenandoah U, UW-Milwaukee, Sacred Heart University
    (Still looking for other programs in my budget, location means less than total price. I am from Illinois originally but go to school in PA and think I'll be able to argue residency!)

    Work:
    -Daycare assistant for 3 summers with children ranging from 4-7, created lesson plans and activities about health and wellbeing
    -Home Health Aide for summer before Senior year/senior year (assists with ADLs, IADLs, transfers, etc.)
    -Undergraduate research assistant in Human Development and family studies-- completed projects on Human Centered Design for well being and Behavior Acquisition
    -Assistant Manager of Concessions at local baseball stadium

    Volunteer/Extracurriculars:
    - 3 years of volunteering for THON as a committee member (year long fundraiser to support families afflicted with pediatric cancer)
    -Campus tour guide and Student Alumni Association Rep (gives tours, works well with others and confident working with all types of people, Executive board member)
    -Peer Health Counselor (45 hours a semester of performing fun and interactive health lessons to clubs and greek life organizations on campus, performs health outreach initiatives on campus)
    - Community Nutrition and Food Security Club (Vice President)- helped organize food drives for surrounding communities' food banks, organized educational events on campus to inspire and engage students with local food security problems!

    Observation experience (total- 143):
    - 75 hours in a SNF
    - 50 hours in a Rehab Hospital
    - 12 hours in home health
    Still hoping to get a peds experience!

    Misc: CPR/AED certified, Honors thesis completed in HDFS, 1st Place in Undergraduate Research Exhibition for a poster

    References:
    - Biobehavioral Health Professor who I completed an honors project with (the project was composed of a lit review + presentation on pain and functioning in late life with emphasis on active living vs life span)
    - OT I shadowed with at the SNF for 75 hours
    - Supervising teacher at the daycare I work at
     
  6. alh2016

    alh2016

    13
    5
    Dec 9, 2016
    I retook a few classes to get my pre-req GPA up and got a job in a hospital to help make my stats better and got more observation hours. Before my pre-req GPA was around a 3.2 and I had about 50 observation hours. I hope it will be enough this year!
     
    LeggOT likes this.
  7. hercurlinessOT

    hercurlinessOT

    8
    0
    Jun 13, 2017
    Yes, no truer words have ever been spoken; trying to keep everything organized according to the different requirements is so draining. Ah, thank you so much! I truly hope so. Time will tell.
     
  8. OTgirl4

    OTgirl4

    1
    0
    Jun 27, 2017
    Hi everyone,

    I am a little nervous with my GRE scores. I have a 149 for Verbal, 158 for Quantitative, and 4.5 for writing. My verbal is low because many schools require a 151 at least to apply. A lot of schools want higher verbal than quantitative scores. Do you think schools will take into account that my other sections are above the 50th percentile?
     
  9. OTHopeful6601

    OTHopeful6601

    61
    30
    Aug 9, 2016
    I applied to WSSU, UNC, LR, and ECU last year and got into all but UNC if you have questions later on! I'm attending WSSU this fall.
     
  10. OTHopeful6601

    OTHopeful6601

    61
    30
    Aug 9, 2016
    WSSU only looks at your writing score portion of the GRE just so you know!
     
  11. NYY13251

    NYY13251

    40
    1
    Feb 8, 2017
    Undergraduate University: State University of New York at Cortland
    Degree: Therapeutic Recreation
    Cumulative GPA: Graduated with 3.2, but will have gone up due the Pre-reqs I have taken
    Prerequisite GPA - Depends on the school, but around 3.75
    GRE: Avoided. Applied to schools that did not require it.

    Applying to: Hofstra, Sacred Heart, Seton Hall, Stockton, Midwestern Arizona, Davenport, Bay Path

    Work:
    - Director of Recreation of snf for 1 year
    - Events Coordinator at CCRC
    - Independent Living Specialist working with young adults. (Helped them get into school, get jobs, find housing)
    - Recreation assistant- Ran programs

    Volunteer/Extracurriculars:
    - Therapeutic recreation Intern in Oregon. Worked with children and adults with various disabilities.
    - Volunteered at a nursing home for many years
    - Adopt a Grandparent program in college. Took volunteers to SNF
    - Worked with a well known OT (remotely.) Helped plan webinars and recruit OT's.

    Observation experience (total--100ish):
    -58 total in pediatric, rehabilitation, and geriatric settings. Hopefully will get some extra hours in.

    Misc: CPR and First Aid certified.

    References:
    -an occupational therapist
    - Anatomy Professor
    - Employer
     

Share This Page