Other EC's besides EMT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MaybeMD

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I am taking EMT classes in the spring. So hopefully by summer I will be working as an EMT. I am a freshman now, so by the time I start applying to schools I will have been an EMT for three years. What I am asking is what other EC's do you suggest that I take. I am already volunteering at a children's hospital (which I REALLY like), and I'll probably try to stay there as long as I can. So I'll be there for three years as well. I mean should I just forget volunteering anywhere else since I will be an EMT? Also, do ADCOMS look favorably upon those applicants who are EMT's? Comments from pre-med EMT's will be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Originally posted by MaybeMD
Hey guys, I am taking EMT classes in the spring. So hopefully by summer I will be working as an EMT. I am a freshman now, so by the time I start applying to schools I will have been an EMT for three years. What I am asking is what other EC's do you suggest that I take. I am already volunteering at a children's hospital (which I REALLY like), and I'll probably try to stay there as long as I can. So I'll be there for three years as well. I mean should I just forget volunteering anywhere else since I will be an EMT? Also, do ADCOMS look favorably upon those applicants who are EMT's? Comments from pre-med EMT's will be appreciated!

It will definitely give you something to talk about at interviews, but it probably will be looked upon as favorably as most other ECs

As an EMT you can do alot of things. For example 1. Work in an ambulance 2. Work in a hospital 3. Volunteer in a free clinic

Don't look at it as being an EMT for 3 years...look at it as a new door which has opened which will allow you to have endless experiences (if you play your cards right)

Members don't see this ad :)