Other side of the curtain?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MD Dreams

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I'm a 2nd year medical student (FMG/IMG at SGU). Since I can remember I've been in love with surgery. I've collected every book I could find on the specialty, watched every show, shadowed a surgeon, etc. However, lately, do to some life changes I've wondered about how happy I would be with such a demanding life style, in terms of hours, responsibility, self-sacrifice, etc. Thus I've begun to seriously consider anesthesiology and I've read a great deal on this site. My question is this: Are there any Anesthesiology residents/graduates who seriously contemplated surgery in the past and now wish they had chosen surgery instead of anesthesiology? Any and all input will be much appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

i think most people who go into anesthesia have at one point contemplated surgery because they like being in the OR - at least until they found out that they could stay in the OR doing anesthesia instead.... I don't know if many have surgeon-envy, but you never really hear of anesthesia-residents switching to surgery..... it is often the other way around!

Tenesma said:
i think most people who go into anesthesia have at one point contemplated surgery because they like being in the OR - at least until they found out that they could stay in the OR doing anesthesia instead.... I don't know if many have surgeon-envy, but you never really hear of anesthesia-residents switching to surgery..... it is often the other way around!

MS4 here going into anesthesiology. I loved surgery, really enjoyed the gung-ho attitude of putting the patient first using procedural stuff. It wasn't so much enjoying the OR, but enjoying working in environments where you had nearly everything healthcare had to offer at your disposal.