Out of State for CA

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by laundry, May 11, 2007.

1. laundry

10+ Year Member

Dentist
    Alright

I'm an Oklahoma resident with a 4.0 GPA and a CV to die for (grants, awards, research, etc). What's my chances of getting into UCLA or USC if I have a good DAT score?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. pacbum

7+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    usc isn't a problem bc its private...you can come from anywhere

ucla is a little harder since its public, but with those stats you should be good. i honestly dont know how they pick out of state applicants though. seems like luck of the draw

4. jeninny44

2+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    Honestly, Los Angeles sucks. No other way to say it. Really does. I don't even like industrial/metal but you ever hear that grammy winning song "Ænima" before? It's all about Los Angeles, and if you've spent more than 1 week there knows how badly LA sucks, and it really sums things up suciently. Here is a link to the lyrics along with an explanation to the song, and a link to the video (the video itself is weird, but you can listen to the song for free). You don't even need to like this type of music to appreciate how sucinctly and intelligently put together this song is.

Seriously man, I know you're from Oklahoma and want to move to the west coast, but we get so many people like you who really have no idea what Los Angeles is really like. The traffic here is just the tip of the iceburg. San Diego is awesome, San Francisco is great, but Los Angeles really sucks. Apply to UCSF and UOP instead.

5. tooth decay

tooth decay science officer
    2+ Year Member

I suggest that during your interview, you should be a little bit more humble when describing your CV.

6. keibee82

keibee82 Blue_tooth...
    2+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    I live close to LA right now and for the last ten years.