Out-of-Staters

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FCIllini

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Howdy from Houston!! Was curious to see if anyone knew of dental schools that might waive out-of-state tuition after attending there for say a year or two.

I'm studying for the DAT and plan to take it in May/June, but still haven't pinned down where I'll apply. Definitely the Texas schools - UTH, UTSA, & Baylor. Was also planning on applying to Kentucky, Louisville, UMKC, & maybe Alabama-Birmingham, but wasn't sure if it would be a waste for an out-of-stater at these public institutions.

Also, is UOP the only school that offers a 36-month program. Even though it's an expensive school, three years sure is tempting.

Members don't see this ad.

FCIllini said:
Howdy from Houston!! Was curious to see if anyone knew of dental schools that might waive out-of-state tuition after attending there for say a year or two.

I'm studying for the DAT and plan to take it in May/June, but still haven't pinned down where I'll apply. Definitely the Texas schools - UTH, UTSA, & Baylor. Was also planning on applying to Kentucky, Louisville, UMKC, & maybe Alabama-Birmingham, but wasn't sure if it would be a waste for an out-of-stater at these public institutions.

Also, is UOP the only school that offers a 36-month program. Even though it's an expensive school, three years sure is tempting.

It varies from state to state. Most states will let you change residency and pay the lower rate once you are a resident, but the school may be more selective for out of staters.

This link is to a site that has links to each state's resideny requirements.
Residencies

Tennessee is basically required to recognize you as in state after you move and if you file taxes here. So if you worked the summer before school started in memphis and filed taxes they should change the residency status.