Overwhelmed, whats the next step in preparing for graduate school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

stephsters2936

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an undergrad at the University of south florida majoring in psychology. I've got two internships for research experience, I've joined psi chi and have become an undergrad APA student affiliate. My grades are awesome and I plan to take the GRE next year. I just don't know what else to do. Honors college is an option but it is a huge commitment of conventions, honors thesis, research, seminars... I'm going to school full time, working and spending 40 hours at my internships. is it worth the massive commitment to do it? and what else should I be doing? I don't know anyone who has beyond a bachelors degree and I need some guidance. Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Are your internships clinical experience or research experience? What are you doing at your internships? You say they're for research experience but I've rarely heard research positions referred to as internships. Just want to make sure you're getting adequate research experience given how important it is for a strong application.

At least for me, joining the honors college was a great decision. I was able to do a self-directed honors thesis and this came up during every single interview. I'd say this was the strongest part of my application. Figure out exactly what the honors college requires and if you can find the time, definitely join. It seems like your college asks for a lot though. How much of it is actually required? We just had to take honors classes, do a thesis, and present at an end of the year student forum. All good experiences.

Here is my advice: