P/F Board Change and School Decision

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EdwardKim

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello fellow dental students!

I am a pre-dental student who applied this 2011 cycle and got into few dental schools so far.

I am having trouble picking which school I should attend due to board exam being changed into P/F system rather than score system.

I aspire to specialize in one of the specialties, and I would like to pick a school that would help me in reaching that goal.

If board exam wasn't changed to P/F, I would go to traditionally strong academic school like Conn, Columbia, Harvard, but I don't know if this will still be true after the board exam changes.

Do any of you have any information on how residency programs will evaluate applicants when the change is implemented?

If so, what kind of school will help me maximize my chances in getting into a specialty residency?

Here are the schools that I got accepted to so far: Penn, Columbia, Tufts, Conn, UCSF.

Cost is no problem, which school would most benefit me in preparing me for OMS residencies?

Thanks for reading, and I understand I am very shortsighted in my desire to specialize since I don't even know dentistry yet. But I thought it was still good to have a goal.

Have a nice day!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello fellow dental students!

I am a pre-dental student who applied this 2011 cycle and got into few dental schools so far.

I am having trouble picking which school I should attend due to board exam being changed into P/F system rather than score system.

I aspire to specialize in one of the specialties, and I would like to pick a school that would help me in reaching that goal.

If board exam wasn't changed to P/F, I would go to traditionally strong academic school like Conn, Columbia, Harvard, but I don't know if this will still be true after the board exam changes.