PA vs. MD or DO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

student128199

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all!

I am currently a college freshman pursuing a career in health care. I am having a hard time deciding which career path to take. I know I still have time to decide but I would like some input as to what to consider when choosing my career. I am deciding between becoming a doctor or physician's assistant. I have always, always wanted to become a mother and want to give as much time to my kids as possible when the time comes. That being said, I also want to get the most out of my career as well. I am a natural leader, and I am concerned that if I chose PA I will not have the authority I desire. I am so torn on what to pick. I would love some thoughts and input!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello all!

I am currently a college freshman pursuing a career in health care. I am having a hard time deciding which career path to take. I know I still have time to decide but I would like some input as to what to consider when choosing my career. I am deciding between becoming a doctor or physician's assistant. I have always, always wanted to become a mother and want to give as much time to my kids as possible when the time comes. That being said, I also want to get the most out of my career as well. I am a natural leader, and I am concerned that if I chose PA I will not have the authority I desire. I am so torn on what to pick. I would love some thoughts and input!

Its Physician Assistant, no 's (I know most PA's get riled by this).

And plenty of moms become doctors, but you're right, you'll probably not see your kids as much if you were a doctor instead of a PA.

Though I never understand how people can seek such life altering advice on an anonymous message board,

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello all!