Part time job during PhD years?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Leif_Erikson

Rocko
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am just beginning my PhD, and am in need of some extra cash. I was wondering if anyone does any part time work during their PhD? Does anyone have any good ideas of part time work that could use our skills as highly educated individuals? The only things I can really think of are tutoring or working for a test prep company. Anything else in the medical/educational/engineering field that would make a good part time job for only a couple of hours each week?

Members don't see this ad.

Well, I'm doing my masters and not a PhD, but I've found teaching for a test prep company pretty easy and lucrative (I taught the BS/VR sections for one of the big name MCAT programs). It also gives you connections for bringing in private tutoring $$.

Yeah, I work with a guy who also does that. The money is pretty decent—$25 an hour for group classes if you get good performance reviews, and significantly more for private tutoring.

Members don't see this ad :)
Check with your school, most have rather strict rules about the types and amounts of (outside) work you can do as a funded PhD student.

:thumbup:

Furthermore, if your PhD work is funded by any sort of NRSA (including MSTP, but others could apply as well), then as a condition of your stipend you have basically agreed not to take on any real jobs. You're allowed to do a little bit of extra paid research or teaching, but it's supposed to be truly minor.

"Under no circumstances may the conditions of stipend supplementation or the services provided for compensation interfere with, detract from, or prolong the fellow’s approved Kirschstein-NRSA training program."

Your school is supposed to approve any jobs that you do "to verify that the circumstances will not detract from or prolong the approved training program."

(Source)