Part time ONLINE school recommendations for MSW or MFT, plz :)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

edavt04

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I have a Doctor of Pharmacy Degree, and I have zero desire to be working in that industry after working there for 10 years.
I am looking into changing my career to becoming a therapist.
I have done lots of therapy myself in the past 5 years, and SE (Somatic Experiencing) and IFS (Internal Family Systems) worked best for me. So once I get the mental health worker degree, I'd like to do SE and IFS trainings.

What I am looking for in a good school:
-ONLINE (I LOVE working on my own)
-part-time, that allows you to go at your own pace (I can dedicate 5-max10 hrs/week because I have young children)
-preferrably non-GRE (there's a big part of me that balks at the idea of taking yet another standardized test after all my years I spent in school).

Any suggestions, plz?
Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

As you were told in the psych forms, online education is not recommended for becoming a therapist. The primary problem with online education is that psychotherapy is a skill that needs to be live observed by people specifically trained in supervising and educating therapists. Online programs rely on the providers at their practicum sites for this training and often those folks are not qualified to provide such training. Consider a brick and mortar program that offers part-time coursework.