"Part time" work - what are my options ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gildenros

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone !

First of all, this is my first post, but I've been reading posts and enjoying this forum for years. Everybody is always really helpful and informed, so I thought I should post here form my *very* particular question!

So here's the thing.
I'm a French MD graduate, currently completing a residency in pathology (with a special interest in medical genetics).
The thing is that I'm also a musician (I write music for films, and for singers/bands). I've been able to manage the two so far.
In order to pursue this, I'd see myself moving to the US for a while, after I complete residency in 2 years. But, I also need money, since I'm not making THAT much yet with music.

So, I've been explorinng and trying to find options :

- What about completing a "cushy" residency in the states ?
I've actually started studying for the steps.

- What about working in consulting (McKinsey, etc..). I hear there are great opportunities for MDs, but they make you work an average of 70 hrs/week... Do they also offer 9-5 jobs ??

One last thing you have to know is that medical school is basically free in France (it's state funded), so I don't have this huge debt over my shoulders.

I'm aware this is a bit of an unusual situation, but I'm sure some of oyu will be of great help :)

Thanks a lot.

NB: I'm also posting this in the Business/MD section.

Members don't see this ad.

From what I know of consulting firms, they tend to work people hard and long hours, >>40 hrs/week when you are starting out. You would likely not have much time for your music related activities.