1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

Participation in Pre-matriculation program binding?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Dart1516, May 16, 2007.

1. Dart1516

Dart1516 Junior Member
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Students I know who have participated in these programs say they are very helpful. I graduated in '06, so it's nice to get back into the mode of classes and whatnot. And I'm bored with my job. It's either work or school, so...

Anyway, I have a question I'm hoping someone can answer.

By participating in a pre-matriculation program that only invites accepted students, am I binded to the school? Or could I still accept a wait-list invite, if it is granted? I am happy to be on my way to medical school and I definitely don't want to burn any bridges. If I were granted an acceptance from the wait-list, I'm not even sure that I would take it, but I would like to have the option if it presents itself. My first guess would be pre-matriculation = non-binding, simply by the term pre-matriculation. I've looked over my program paperwork thoroughly and it doesn't mention any implied contract or commitment. Of course it would be ideal if I could just ask the program director. But I feel that this is a sensitive subject that could be taken the wrong way if approached improperly. Thoughts?

Thank you.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Depakote

Depakote Pediatric Anesthesiologist
    Rocket Scientist Physician Moderator Emeritus Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Typically, once you start orientation/classes at a school you cannot accept offers from any other school. I would consider a pre-matric program starting classes so I wouldn't do the program if you were hoping to get off a waitlist.

4. diosa428

diosa428 SDN Angel
    5+ Year Member