Party in Spain Vs Costa Rico?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PlayHard

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Right now I'm a 4th year student and planning on doing a foreign language elective (My home institution actually gives us credit for this :D ). Has anyone spent a month in Spain or Costa Rica learning Spanish/taking Spanish classes? Any info on good courses, fun cities to live in, places to stay, or recommendations for other Spanish speaking countries would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I spent a month in CR studying at the Costa Rican Language Academy (http://www.spanishandmore.com/) and had an amazing time. You can take medical spanish too so it's even somewhat academic. The key is escaping every weekend to one of the gorgeous nearby beaches and making lots of new friends :)

If you're going to study Spanish to have fun, I recommend Barcelona. It's one of the most fun and beautiful cities in the world.

If you're more serious, most Spanish speakers in the US speak Mexican Spanish, which is slower but definately distinct from South American, Central American or Castillian Spanish. Therefore, Mexico City, Guadalahara or Cuernavaca (1/2 hour south of Mexico City, popular for language lessons)

Members don't see this ad :)
I was in both CR and Spain last year.
I agree with the Barcelona plan if you are up for the heavy party/urban scene.

The surf in CR is prettier and much less crowded than the Northern Spanish coast, but Basque food rocks.
We scored a great deal with lodging included with our tuition in Spain. Check out Lacunza in San Sebastian.

beyond all hope said:
"If you're going to study Spanish to have fun,"
That sums up what I'm looking for :) . If I can possibly do it on the cheap, that would be even better.
Any thoughts?