Path residencies... somebody give me a pep talk/advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

stormhawk27

Western U Vet Med 2018
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 4th year vet student currently suffering through pathology residency rejection season. I am still waiting on one more school, but I am not hopeful as I was straight up told while I was on externship there that they prefer people who have "done something after vet school" ahead of people still in school. (ETA: I am anatomic path)

I guess part of what I am asking is... what are the chances of getting into a path residency on the second round? I have decent grades, a good amount of experience, pathology is all I ever wanted to do and I went into vet school knowing this. It is very disheartening that I have been rejected everywhere. Would love to compare with other people who did get in.

Also, what the heck do I do for a year if I don't get into my last remaining program? I HATE clinical practice (hate, hate hate) and I have limited clinical experience and am a terrible surgeon so it would be tough to get a job, but a lot of the residencies seem to like people who have been out for a year or two practicing... or would I be better off seeing if I can work at the Medical Examiner's office that I worked at between undergrad and vet school? At least that would be pathology experience, even if it's human, and would not be as stressful for me personally (and would probably pay better).

I know there's at least one poster here with path experience, help me out please :(

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Are you wanting to do clinical or anatomic path? That is going to influence advice, since I've seen increasingly divergent selection criteria between the two sectors.