Patients wanting your cell phone number

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

qmcat

Heat
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
As a rotating student, have you ever been asked by a patient for your personal cell phone number? And, how do you react to that?

This happened to me a few times already, and I've always declined but I couldn't come up with a decent excuse other than "I'm just a student and not qualified to give you definitive medical advice" or "I'm just rotating here and I'll be off this service in a couple weeks". I usually tell them afterwards to call the office phone or the hospital main line if they need anything.

The patient always tries to make me feel bad later saying, "I always get the machine when I call. You're the only one that really listens. etc..."

I'm just wondering how to better handle situations like this. I know once we graduate with our MDs, I can't really use the "I'm just a student, cannot give advice" line. But, I don't want to be taking calls from patients at any time of day when I might be studying and doing other stuff. What would you do?

Members don't see this ad.

You can always get a 'google #' and give them that #. you can screen your calls before you answer because the person has to say their name before you answer the call.

Members don't see this ad :)
As a rotating student, have you ever been asked by a patient for your personal cell phone number? And, how do you react to that?

This happened to me a few times already, and I've always declined but I couldn't come up with a decent excuse other than "I'm just a student and not qualified to give you definitive medical advice" or "I'm just rotating here and I'll be off this service in a couple weeks". I usually tell them afterwards to call the office phone or the hospital main line if they need anything.