Pay interest or pay off principal balance? During medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dtx_17

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Second year here.
I got married recently, and my husband's income is enough to cover our monthly expenses. We have enough to invest ~$500 monthly in loan repayment. We have a fluffy enough savings already (TY cash wedding registry) so adding to savings is not in consideration.

My question is - is wiser to pay off accruing interest across the board while I'm a student, or to focus on lowering/paying off a couple of the principal balance (after paying that loan's interest, obviously).
I have ~$122k of principal, ~$5500 interest accrued thus far. I've taken out both Direct Student Plus ($27k) and Stafford loans (the rest).

I'll be posting this on the Financial Aid forum as well because I don't know which is better suited for my question :)

Members don't see this ad.

Honestly, probably a wash. So I guess it depends on whether or not you anticipate your interest capitalizing at any point.
I’d go for the highest interest loan. And hope $500 per month will allow you to actually pay it down.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Do any of your loans have different interest rates?
The Direct plus is about 7% and the Stafford loans are about 6% I believe, give or take a few tenths of a %.

Honestly, probably a wash. So I guess it depends on whether or not you anticipate your interest capitalizing at any point.
I’d go for the highest interest loan. And hope $500 per month will allow you to actually pay it down.
Sounds good! I dont think any of them start capitalizing until the grace period ends post grad.

The Direct plus is about 7% and the Stafford loans are about 6% I believe, give or take a few tenths of a %.