Peace Corps then MD/ PhD...they going to like?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Coclean

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All:

I have just finished my MSPH in Epidemiology and am shipping off to serve in the Peace Corps, where I will work at district level design of surveillence and monitoring programs for the Ministry of Health of a country in West Africa. I have about 7 years of bench reearch experience, coordinated an independence research project in Peru, and have a handful of publications in immunology and epidemiology. My numbers and CV look good in other ways too.

With all that a *couple* people have told me they think some programs will think I have gone soft and will have lost my science ability during my years of service, away from the bench. These people were fellow applicants though, so I wonder what others hold as opinions?

My goals for the future are to work at design of research programs in resource poor settings, and for me, Peace Corps will be the opportunity to see what it is really like to WORK in the worst of the worst situations (not as a consultant, but as part of the Ministry and with the people that we are always developing programs for, perhaps not properly). As I want to work in bench science in a field setting (I have experience with this already too) I see Peace Corps as a bonus.....almost essential, and I won't give it up. But I am wondering if I will have justifications to make.

Will programs frown upon my years of service away from the bench?

Members don't see this ad.