• Livestream AMA: Join SDN as we welcome Dr. John Ligon, a Pediatric Oncologist with the National Cancer Institute on May 11th at 8:00 PM Eastern. Register now!
Jan 13, 2021
Hi everyone,
I'm a freshman undergrad pre-med student looking for healthcare experiences. I really love working with kids, so I am pursuing pediatric medicine. Working with kids is something that I'm really passionate about, and I already have 600+ volunteer hours working with kids (through my church and volunteering at summer camp). What I'm really looking for is healthcare experiences with kids. I would love to volunteer at a children's hospital, and there seem to be plenty of opportunities. My only concern is that the responsibilities given to volunteers aren't explicitly related to healthcare. Mostly, their duties seem to involve things like talking to patients in the waiting room, guiding families in the hospital who need directions, or even cuddling babies. To be clear, I'd love to do those things. I'm just concerned that those will not qualify as "healthcare experiences," and I already have plenty of volunteer experience. Any thoughts on this?

I've also considered becoming CNA certified. Would it be better for me to try to work as a CNA in a children's hospital?

Thanks so much in advance!

MedSchoolTutors

Top MCAT/USMLE/COMLEX Tutors Answer Your Questions
Vendor
2+ Year Member
Apr 25, 2019
www.medschooltutors.com
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
  2. Resident [Any Field]
  3. Attending Physician
You can more than likely put it down as clinical volunteering. Working as a CNA will look good on your app as well, but it's something you should do because you want to, not because you want to check a box.

Kevin W, MCAT Tutor
Med School Tutors

Reactions: 1 users
About the Ads

candbgirl

15+ Year Member
Jul 14, 2005
Status (Visible)
Hi everyone,