Pediatric Emergency Medicine (Peds-ER, Peds/ER)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr.PPBBB

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm hoping to start a discussion here about Pediatric Emergency Medicine as a specialty. I am currently a 4th year medical student applying for residency in Pediatrics. :love:

Personally, I decided that I wanted to go the Peds route:
-3 year Pediatrics Residency (although some programs will knock it down to 2)
-3 year Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellowship.

This is ideal for me, because I am fairly certain that I do not want to work with adult patients.

However, I did apply to the combined Peds/ER residency programs, and I wanted to know a little bit more about them. What do you guys think?
-2 1/2 year Pediatrics Residency
-2 1/2 year EM Residency (hopefully with a focus on peds-ER)

I also had some general questions about Peds ER that I have been completely unable to find on the web, and I hope some more senior members of the community can answer:
1) What kind of salary can a Peds/ER doc expect if they're coming from the Pediatrics route? I can't find information on that ANYWHERE.
2) If I do a combined residency in Peds-EM, will my future employers expect me to take shifts in the Adult ER?
3) If EM trained physicians can work in a Pediatric Emergency Room, then why is there a separate Peds-ER fellowship for them?

Please, feel free to add your input, insights, or any additional inquiries you may have about the field. Inquiring minds want to know!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm hoping to start a discussion here about Pediatric Emergency Medicine as a specialty. I am currently a 4th year medical student applying for residency in Pediatrics. :love:

Personally, I decided that I wanted to go the Peds route:
-3 year Pediatrics Residency (although some programs will knock it down to 2)
-3 year Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellowship.